Skip to main content

Derkotch's desire to work with kids strengthens with experience

After working summer camps with kids, Tyler Derkotch knew it was what he wanted to do for a living. At WVU, he found that the physical education and kinesiology program offered the kinds of hands-on learning he enjoyed in a field he was passionate about. Working at a daycare in Morgantown has only strengthened his conviction to work with children as a physical education teacher. 

Tyler Kerkotch talks into a microphone in front of a Philadelphia Phillies backdrop.

Tyler Derkotch

Major: Physical Education and Kinesiology
Class: Sophomore

Hometown: Douglassville, Pennsylvania

Why did you choose to pursue a degree in physical education and kinesiology at WVU?

I have worked with kids as a camp counselor for the past two summers and have been working at a local daycare since the start of the school year. I enjoy teaching and interacting with the kids, so the program fits me well. 

I switched from exercise physiology, and it has been the most fun I've had here at WVU. This program incorporates hands-on learning to go along with lectures, and the classes are smaller so you can more easily build strong relationships with the faculty and peers.

How has CAHS prepared you for your next chapter?

CAHS has prepared me for my next chapter by being supportive of everyone. I’ve never seen a staff so encouraging and enthusiastic about wanting students to help achieve their goals. No matter how extreme my goals might be, the faculty helped me establish a game plan and put me on the right path to achieve those goals. Because of that, I have no doubt I can dream big and make it happen.

What has your experience working in a daycare facility been like?

I normally work as a classroom teacher for kids between 3-5 years old. My role is to take care of their needs, play, and keep them safe. I wanted a job where I could work with kids and keep gaining that kind of experience. I had never worked with kids this young before, and it was an adjustment from working with middle school and high school kids. This experience has only increased my desire to work with kids. 

What's been the most difficult part of adjusting to college life?

I think my biggest challenge has been balancing my time to make sure that I am able to do everything that needs to get done.

What are your career goals after completing your degree?

My goal is to be a high school physical education teacher, and I am interested in coaching baseball. I am also considering pursuing a master's degree. 

What's the best thing about being a Mountaineer?

The best thing about being a Mountaineer is the connection you have with your peers and alumni. The "Mountaineer Family" is strong and prideful and I am proud to be a part of that.

    Share this story 
  • LinkedIn logo